Research Awards

Janet Hyde

Association for Psychological Science James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award, for lifetime achievement in research addressing a critical problem in society, 2018

The inaugural Alfred C. Kinsey Distinguished Researcher Award

Keisha Lindsay

National Conference of Black Political Scientists

2019 Alex Willingham Best Political Theory Paper Award

Ellen Samuels

Awarded the 2018 Fineline Competition for the piece “Cigarette-Paper Scars”

Research Grants & Fellowships

Jenny Higgins

Grant from a private philanthropic foundation to conduct research on “Patient Awareness of Religious Restrictions on Reproductive Healthcare in Wisconsin.”

Araceli Alonso

Distinguished Prefix Award

Baldwin Wisconsin Idea Grant

Annie Menzel

Institute for Research in the Humanities

L’Engle Travel Fellowship

Chris Barcelos

Morgridge Fellowship

Pernille Ipsen

Vilas Associates Award

Staff Excellence

Susan Nelson

Academic Professional Development Grant

Research Awards

Feminist Scholars Fellowship

Erika Marín-Spiotta, Associate Professor, Department of Geography

Judith Houck, Evjue Bascom Professor of Gender & Women’s Studies and MBH

Honorary Fellows

Gonzalo Vitón Garcîa, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain

Ruth Bleier Undergraduate Scholarship in the Natural Sciences

Yunxi (Claudia) Liu

Isabel Warner and Ariel Yang, Honorable mention

Deborah Hobbins Graduate Award in Reproductive Health, Rights and Justice

Kelsey Q. Wright, PhD Candidate, Department of Sociology

Hyde Dissertation Research Award in the Social Sciences

Kaden Paulson-Smith, PhD Candidate, Department of Political Science

Mary Washburn Willets Dissertation Research Award

Melody Waring, PhD Candidate, School of Social Work

Graduate Awards

Katka Showers-Curtiss

FLAS to study Kazhak

Suzanna Schulert

L&S Teaching Fellow


Teaching Awards

Lacey Alexander

Ph.D. Capstone Teaching Award

Araceli Alonso

Chancellor’s Hilldale Award for Excellence in Teaching

Ann Fink

Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award, First Wave Hip Hop and Urban Arts Learning Community

Chris Garlough  

Fall 2017 Honored Instructor

Janet Hyde

Spring 2018 Honored Instructor

Keisha Lindsay 

Award for Mentoring Undergraduates in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activities

Kate Phelps

Spring 2018 Honored Instructor

Sami Schalk

Spring 2018 Honored Instructor

Research Awards

Jill Casid

Clark-Oakley fellowship, Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, MA

Christy Clark-Pujara

Feminist Scholars Fellowship from the Center for Research on Gender and Women, UW-Madison

Jenny Higgins 

Romnes Award

Judy Houck 

Evjue Bascom Professorship

Janet Hyde  

James McKeen Cattell Award, Association for Psychological Science

Pernille Ipsen

Feminist Scholars Fellowship from the Center for Research on Gender and Women, UW-Madison

Aili Tripp 

Wangari Maathai WARF Professorship

Staff Awards

Su Ann Rose

University Staff Excellence Award

Research Grants: Faculty

Jenny Higgins and collaborators

R01 grant from the NIH (4 year, $1.3 million grant to support study of sexual acceptability among 4,000 new contraceptive users)

Two-year planning grant from an anonymous donor to fund the project ”Supporting Reproductive, Infant and Family Health in Wisconsin”

Research Awards

Ann Fink, Wittig Postdoctoral Fellow in Feminist Biology

Poster award at the International Neuroethics Society for “Teaching the Neurobiology of Stress and Traumatic Memory in the Context of Social Power and Identity.” 

Research Awards & Prizes: Graduate Students

Grace Morrison, MA Candidate of Gender & Women’s Studies.

 Deborah A. Hobbins Graduate Student Award in Reproductive Health Rights, and Justice

Renee Kramer, Ph.D. Candidate of Population Health

 Deborah A. Hobbins Graduate Student Award in Reproductive Health Rights, and Justice

Di Wang, Ph.D. Candidate of Sociology

Mary Washburn Willets Award for Excellence in the Social Sciences

Madeleine Pape, Ph.D. Candidate of Sociology

Hyde Dissertation Research Award for Graduate Students

Morgan Sinnard, Ph.D. Candidate of Counseling Psychology

Worcester/Whatley/Leavitt Award

Malu Machuca-Rose, MA Candidate of Gender and Women’s Studies

Tinker Nave Research Award for Summer Research in Latin America

Undergraduate Scholarships

Kate Craemer

Betty Nelson Humanities Scholarship

Melady Elifritz

Outstanding Undergraduate Returning Adult Student Award

Erika Gallagher

Betty Nelson Humanities Scholarship

 Kayla Hui

 Mr. Thomas W. Parker Scholarship

Jordan Madden

Harry S. Truman Scholarship

Katherine Reinemann

Ruth Bleier Scholarship

Undergraduate Research Award

Sophia Burroughs

2018 Women and Gender Studies Consortium   Undergraduate Research Award for paper “Lack of Equity for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Seniors with Disabilities”